INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Cristian Jorge Amadeo Kusch

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello,

I'm an organ student from Rome, my name is Ananda Mohan das. I find myself inclined towards indian music, as i find improvisation a more natural way to play. So i'd be interested to learn how to play instrumental hindustani and/or indian classical music as i think that's the field i could really express myself and be successful. I'm really not much of a singer, i sing in a choir and i can read and chant, but not even close to professional level. 

On the other hand i'm in 2nd year of a organ bachelor's degree so the harmonium would be not so hard for me to pick up. 

So i was wondering whether someone who knows the world of Indian music could help me understand how to get a degree in indian music, what kind of degree i need to be able to perform, which academy i could attend, ect.

Any chance someone can share some information?

thanks

Anand

Lars

Reply with quote  #2 
If you want a degree then try through a University there like BHU, etc. They turn out a lot of degrees in ICM but I doubt there's much improvisation, it's more of a mechanical thing. If you want to learn Indian music better to study with a teacher there or in Rome if one is available. ~ Lars

Reply with quote  #3 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars
If you want a degree then try through a University there like BHU, etc. They turn out a lot of degrees in ICM but I doubt there's much improvisation, it's more of a mechanical thing. If you want to learn Indian music better to study with a teacher there or in Rome if one is available. ~ Lars

Hi,
Thanks for reply.
Yes you see i really don't know anything about it. Whether improvisation or mechanical i'd just like to learn to become a performer. Is a degree from an university necessary to become a performer?
Blind Lemon Mike

Reply with quote  #4