INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
ntac

Reply with quote  #1 
Dear Friends
I am a beginner tabla enthusiast based in California very much enjoying learning the beautiful rhythms of this wonderful instrument. I am currently practicing on a borrowed old set and would like to purchase my own soon. After considerable research I have a shortlist which includes the following sets:

http://www.kalakendar.com/products/Tabla-Set-Mukta-Das-Premium-%28Natural%29.html

http://www.aacm.org/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=73_98&products_id=341

http://cgi.ebay.com/COPPER-TABLA-4-KG-HARMONIUM-SITAR-NAAL-PAKHAWAJ-MRIDANG-/120617318242?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c155a3762 - Excellent value for money but a bit cautious about ordering direct from India.

Any comments, advice will be much appreciated. This has probably been covered before somewhere in this forum but could not locate. Grateful for your guidance.

Namaste!

Nicholas.
deep

Reply with quote  #2 
If you live near Bay area, I would suggest you to visit AACM and pick the one you like. You will definitely like the Calcutta sets they have.
annamalayaar

Reply with quote  #3 
contact upendra...he make great tabla at good price...i'm happy of his sets...

ask for something special for your first set...like particular wood like KHAIR available from upendra..

No amount of learning can teach one to give up the ego.The best course is to catch hold of what is real, without any support.He who is fully conscious is really God. He is the real nature of one's own true state.The experience is silence,it cannot speak.
stassy

Reply with quote  #4 
Hey, I'm just wondering if you ended up with the Mukta Das Premium set, or found any other info on it? I had originally ordered a different set but kala kendar is sending me that one because of a shipping delay (they changed it without actually asking me), so i'd love to hear if you have an reviews of it... thanks!!!
jmain

Reply with quote  #5