INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
theactor10

Reply with quote  #1 
It seems all the best sitar players have/had a Guru, rather than taking sitar lessons on an hourly basis. Living in North America, all that I can really find are sitar lessons at quite high hourly rates, most starting at $50/hour and going upwards to $100+/hour. A lot of the greats like Ravi Shankar for example had a guru who they would spend hours with each day to really hone the instrument.

So what I'm trying to say is that I'm seeking advice in finding a guru, rather than a sitar teacher. I'm located in Toronto, Canada, but would be willing to travel for a little while to really learn. My background is Indian btw if that helps in any capacity.

I'm youngish (27), and my goal is to become a performing sitarist and get as good as I possibly can, and I think if I spent a few months even with a guru, that would really help me reach my goal quicker.

Any and all advice is welcome. Thanks!
Jay M

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi

I wanted to reply to your post with a link to my post
All sitar players have an amazing opportunity to study with Ustad Shahid Parvez Khan both in person and online. He does visit Toronto on occasion each year and when he is not there, you can work with him online. I highly suggest you look into this, if you want to learn and are very serious about playing, In my opinion this is the best chance you will have to reach your goals.

Thanks
Jay

http://forums.chandrakantha.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10692

theactor10

Reply with quote  #3 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Jay
Hi

I wanted to reply to your post with a link to my post