INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
rain

Reply with quote  #1 
I was wondering if people on this forum could share methods of practice that have been helpful in increasing the ability to improvise without losing awareness or feeling of the beat cycle
adunc069

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi, I think that if you really know the gat and a few tans to go with it, a couple pultas and a few variations of the gat in a rag, you can take that with you into any other rag. Like if you learn a bunch of stuff in a pentatonic rag like Bhupali, you can take these structures - not the tans- and apply them with improvising in another pentatonic rag like Hamshadwani, Deshkar, Malkauns, Durga etc.... the point is, the number of notes in the rag don't have to be the same but if you have a good understanding of the cycle with regards to the rag you're playing in, you should be fine.

For instance I'm studying something now that starts on the 10th beat of tintal, and the other lines all start on 2, 6, 9, 13 all with breaks in betwee so that everything feels off beat all the time. But after practicing in my head more than with the instrument, it improved alot. I think mental practice can be as important in music if you're struggling with something.

Another thing that will help is counting on your hand and working things out too. This is something that, if you're struggling with getting lost in the tal, you should do whenever you can. On the bus, at home, work. Anywhere is good. Ustad Afaq Hussain said that even if you're nowhere near your instrument you should always practice in your head whenever you can. 'nuff said

rain

Reply with quote  #3