INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
kaidasaplenty72

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello!

I am a beginner on the Tabla, having started only 7 months ago and I am in love with it. I have a schedule of practice of usually 2-3 hours a day before going to my dayjob, 5 days a week, taking regular classes. I used to be a professional bass player and I need to learn an instrument well if I want to feel satisfaction playing it which means I must dedicate some time to it. My question is this: I am going to be a father in 4 months from now and really excited! But I am wondering what will be happening with my practicing routine... Also I am thinking, if I practice at home, how will our baby react to this noise (Although the Tabla is not really loud)...

Any fathers/tabla players who went through this change in their lives can give me advice?

Thanks!
tablatime

Reply with quote  #2 
how about a mother? i was my husband's tabla accompanyist for more than 25 years. we both studied with pundit Jnan Prakash Ghosh. when our daughters were babies we would lay them down on the floor on a blanket and practice. i think we were more concerned with quiet with the first child,but then with the second we were more at ease ourselves. our babies were not bothered by the sounds, and could fall asleep anywhere after that. but each child is different, and we must be respectful of their individuality just as we deserve that respect. it's only our post-WWII middle class childrearing philosophy that dictates a quiet zone as necessary for babies to go to sleep. enjoy your fatherhood. you will learn a lot about yourself in the process.
kaidasaplenty72

Reply with quote  #3 
A mother is fine! Thank you for sharing your personal/professional experience. I am certainly looking forward to welcome our baby into this world, my wife and I are really happy. Just hoping that the parenthood/dayjob/tabla practice formula will not be one with many conflicts!
jmain

Reply with quote  #4 
Hey my bass brethren!