INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Xianzai

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello, everyone.

I am a student from Sweden, Europe, who is currently finishing my degree in Musicology and performance, and will soon begin my MA. I play mostly popular music; by that I mean jazz, rock, country, blues, fusion, etc. I have had a love for Indian classical music for some years now, and would love to do a semester abroad in India during my master degree, if that could be done.

So, I am asking you, dear community, if you have any good recommendations on a university that has an exchange program for a student with a music MA! My knowledge of raags and ICM is not too great; I am mostly an avid listener but I would love to learn more - indepth. But I think that having a popular music MA would be the best to exchange to.

I tried using Google, but found really nothing. University of Delhi had a MA in Music, would that be a good choice?

If anyone can help me out, I really, really appreciate it. Thank you all!

Sincerly,
Xianzai
musicslug

Reply with quote  #2 
you might try Banaras Hindu University. definitely a more interesting place to live than Delhi. it should be said though: most serious students of Indian music learn from a guru in a one-on-one context, not a classroom. teaching Indian music to a group with varied skill levels, backgrounds, etc. doesn't work. I'm sure there are exceptions, but that's the general rule.
arnabsarod

Reply with quote  #3 
BHU was decent till about 10 years ago. However, with the demise of Dr. Premlata Sharma and retirement of Dr. N Rajam, both the theory and performance aspects have been weakened considerably. Among the current faculty, Prof. Ritwick Sanyal is a respectable Dhrupad performer and teacher.