INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
paideuma

Reply with quote  #1 
namaskar
Last year I studied sarangi with Faiyaz Ali Khan ji in Varanasi. I am now thinking about returning to India. I would like to learn Esraj or Dilruba but I was unable to find any player or teacher even in Varanasi. I know Esraj and Dilruba are even more rare than sarangi but there must be players or teachers somewhere.

Does anyone know of a esraj or dilruba teacher in India? I was told maybe it is possible to find a teacher in Kolkata. I would be grateful if someone could point in the right direction.

thanks
ragamala

Reply with quote  #2 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "paideuma"
namaskar
Last year I studied sarangi with Faiyaz Ali Khan ji in Varanasi. I am now thinking about returning to India. I would like to learn Esraj or Dilruba but I was unable to find any player or teacher even in Varanasi. I know Esraj and Dilruba are even more rare than sarangi but there must be players or teachers somewhere.

Does anyone know of a esraj or dilruba teacher in India? I was told maybe it is possible to find a teacher in Kolkata. I would be grateful if someone could point in the right direction.

thanks
As you haven't had a reply from anyone with knowledge, I can perhaps make the suggestion to seek out a Sikh teacher, perhaps through a gurdwara, as the esraj/dilruba is frequently taken up by members of the Sikh community.
arshadisrajdilruba

Reply with quote  #3 
hi this is arshad israj player if u want to learn israj dilruba just call me 9873019823 and mail me on arshadisrajplayer@hotmail.com if u wanna chek my israj video chek at out on youtube just type it on youtube esraj arshad
satwas

Reply with quote  #4 
hallo frend
i also lernd with fayaz ali khan saurangi