INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
fdf

Reply with quote  #1 
I’ve been reading you quite a lot and I was wondering about the time you need to digest and be able to play what you have been studying.
I’ve been practicing tabla for only 2,5 years under the guide of what I believe to be a good teacher takin’ a lesson every 2 weeks, and he never gives me more than 2 things to learn (for example 2 paltas of a kayda). And if at the next lesson I can’t execute them at least decently he won’t give me anything and he would keep me practicing the old stuff.
And I personally need those two weeks of practice (1 hour a day) to digest what I have to do. In 2,5 years with my teacher I have studied 5 kaydas, a peshkar, a loggi, 3 tukras and a few other things. And sometimes I feel that I could stop and practice that material for other 2 years. At the same time I see that some material has to be played for many months before feelin’ it right. Lately I’ve been on a beautiful kayda for almost 3 months, and that Dhetetetekete is not always right…!
Am I slow? Here in the forum I see some of you posting so much material and variations that they would last me a lifetime! How do you manage to do it? Riyaz, I guess.
But how much time to you need to be able to incorporate new material in a natural and spontaneous way?
pbercker

Reply with quote  #2 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "fdf"
I’ve been reading you quite a lot and I was wondering about the time you need to digest and be able to play what you have been studying.
I’ve been practicing tabla for only 2,5 years under the guide of what I believe to be a good teacher takin’ a lesson every 2 weeks, and he never gives me more than 2 things to learn (for example 2 paltas of a kayda). And if at the next lesson I can’t execute them at least decently he won’t give me anything and he would keep me practicing the old stuff.