INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Mathieu

Reply with quote  #1 
Dear All,

I am a french musician and since i discover the wonderfull sound of the Surbahar
I would like to buy one and i have the opportunity to go to India in february. But i saw different type of surbahar, some with 8 main strings, some with only seven... Is there different type like sitar ?
What are your advice about that subject ?
Thank you for your answer and I wish you all a happy new year
Mathieu
nicneufeld

Reply with quote  #2 
Allow me to speak as another aspiring (but not yet) surbaharist...as far as I gather, the 8th string is generally a "gandhar" chikari akin to gandhar pancham sitars. The main strings are all tuned the same way...four fretted strings (Low Sa, Low Pa, Sa, Ma), and the 7 string surbahars will be tuned like a kharaj pancham with three chikari strings (Very high Sa, High Sa, Pa). The 8th string just adds a fourth chikari. I think the differences between an 8 or 7 string surbahar are much less pronounced than the differences between kharaj pancham and gandhar pancham sitars, which has a much more profound effect on playing style and range of notes.

One thing to consider is what particular style or surbaharist you are interested in. Ustad Imrat Khan is the chief exponent of the Etawah gharana, and has his unique style. He seems to play almost exclusively 7string surbahar, but he intimated that they "took off" the 8th string at some point (perhaps he used to have an 8 string?). Then there is the more traditional dhrupad ang, which has a style that is more unique and less sitar-like...much more into the rudra veena territory. Pt. Pushparaj Koshti is a well reputed master of this style from what I've heard, but I know precious little about dhrupad still, I'm sorry to say!

Good luck in your quest! The surbahar is a magnificent sounding instrument.
pepperman

Reply with quote  #3 
Hi Mathieu,

There is a 8 string surbahar for sale on the French Ebay. Looks interesting.