INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
ajgupta

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi,

Firstly i would like to extend my appreciation to all of the forum members. I have been browsing for a little while now and although i am a newbie to the world of tabla i feel that i have learned so much from this forum, so thank you all.

I have been looking for some instruction on the bol Dhati Dhati DhaDha TooNa Tati Dhati DhaDha DhiNa. It seems very simple but to play it fast my left hand seems to stop functioning and it does what it wants, i find it hard to be consistent, sure i could practice it and force the fingers to work in a certain way but i want to practice properly.

Could anyone out there please explain what is the correcting left hand fingering (bayan) for this bol. Im trying:

Dha Ti Dha Ti Dha Dha Too Na
2fingers 1 finger 2fingers 1finger

Ta Ti Dha Ti Dha Dha Dhi Na
2fingers 1finger 2finger 1finger

Is this correct, i was doing it completely different before but after some contemplation i came to a conclusion this would be the best. How do you guys out there play this bol, even if you play a variation, eg. dhadha tite dhadha toona tata tite dhadha dhina or others.

I look forward to your reply.
va4leo

Reply with quote  #2 
I have always been alternating between the left Middle and Index Fingers on the Baaya (using only one finger at a time). It seems to work quite nicely. I look forward to the responses of others!

Reply with quote  #3 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "va4leo"
I have always been alternating between the left Middle and Index Fingers on the Baaya (using only one finger at a time). It seems to work quite nicely. I look forward to the responses of others!