INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
taal

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi Guys;
While playing Kayada, I have great problem in creating "spontaneous new paltas" in dugun. While writing them down first, reciting and playing is hard way, it is not "natural" way. I think when paltas come out of mind naturally, your playing is automatically improved. I am trying hard since many months, but not good success yet.
Any inputs/ideas on this?...I have about 3 years of experience of playing tabla.

Chaz

Reply with quote  #2 
The number one key to spontaneous kaida playing, as I've been saying a lot recently, is that one has to have a definite theory to how you're going to generate new paltas. Mine is obvious: take a certain bol or concept in the kaida, develop that completely, and then move on to another concept. Or look at it this way: rather than make variations upon the theme, make variations of variations. Memorize maybe four paltas, but let each of those paltas spawn new ones. This helps to keep your thoughts and ideas focused, and makes the act of palta generation much easier and more straightforward.

Basically, I think there comes a point where instead of learning new paltas, a tabla player has to develop a method to approaching kaida that allows you to play any kaida, regardless of whether or not you've learned variations. When I was taught kaidas I was not given paltas, I was only given the theme, but when you have your system down that's all you need.