INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
DonovanJaymz

Reply with quote  #1 
In the spring, I will receive my new Sitar which is currently being made by Tony Karasek. Although I have lived as a professional musician my whole life, I will be a total beginner on Sitar. As a music educator myself, I know how important it is to learn from a qualified, experienced teacher. If I could major in a University program on sitar and North Indian classical music, I would. So far, I have not found any program like that in the US. If anyone knows of such a program or a private school equivalent, please let me know. I do not wish to teach myself or learn from any other self taught or casual player. I need a formal, integrated education on not just sitar, but the entire musical system including a bit of tabla, vocal technique, written theory, and even the Hindi language.

Long story short: my wonderful, incredible wife has agreed to move anywhere along the East Coast (Boston to Miami), so that I can find and attend a decent Indian school of music where I can get all these educational components together in one place. My internet searches have revealed only the Ali Akbar school of music in California which is too far for us to move and the Indian international School in Virgina, just outside Washington, DC. Does anyone have an opinion or personal knowledge of the Indian International School? Here's their link: http://www.indiaschool.org/

If anyone could help point me in the right direction, I'd truly appreciate it. Perhaps there's another school that I'm not aware of. Thank you!
nicneufeld

Reply with quote  #2 
My first thought was AACM, but that is a fair ways away, as you point out...