INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 3 of 3      Prev   1   2   3
barend

Reply with quote  #31 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "mayer141"
I would personally hate to be pigeon holed in to a Gharana. I think a comment was made earlier about having to 'earn' your way in to a Gharana!!!!!!!!
It's that whole scene of 'belonging' that really p*%&^&^ me off about ICM. I love my instrument, I love NB, UVK, RS......I've learned from Senia, Maihar and Etawah teachers and have learnt so much from all of them (and I'm still learning on a daily bases).

I 'belong' to the Manor House Gharana, which is a small province in North London :wink:
Great post!

Yes, I feel that way too. Why should you 'belong' to a gharana anyway? When you are born in India or when you are the child of a musical family or gharana, ok. But when you are living outside India? You can pick what you like from whatever gharana. I like some things from SP and some things from RS and NB and take from them whatever I want and mix it altogether. That way you can come to an individual style and not just become a copy of your master.

That is how I did it with other (western) instruments. Why should it be different with sitar?
John

Reply with quote  #32 
Good to see Mewati getting a mention!

I spent some time sat with Ustad Siraj Khan in Jan this year, after meeting him in the UK in 2010. I will be visiting again this comming Jan. A prominent feature of the training/talim I received from him was/is that of 'merukhand'. My pervious teacher, who introduced me to Khansaheb, used to say '...all of their music comes from merukhand...'; referring to the Mewati gharana's systematic approach to the construction of taans from the merukhand patterns.
For those unfamiliar with the term (and I make no claims of expertise here!), merukhand can be described (somewhat oversimplified) as mastery of note combination patterns within a rag, such as 2-note, 3-note, 4-note...