INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
sitarman

Reply with quote  #1 
I have tuned SA to C# for many years but recently have tried going to D- starting on my Hiren Roy, just to see. It sounds really sweet. My fingers are starting to get used to the extra tension and I am wondering if anyone has ever had any problems similar to what happens with guitars when you increase tension by putting on heavier strings for example. Higher action? Neck problems? Anyone's thoughts on using one or the other- seperate from the obvious answer- whichever the instrument sounds best at, is appreciated.
adunc069

Reply with quote  #2 
Hi, when I started playing, i thought it was supposed to be tuned to B natural. Then I went up to C, now I play at D. I think is the best tuning experience for me as there is extra tension, and I seem to get better response from the sitar at the higher tension. I've tuned as high as D# which I will admit is a little too much for my sitar to handle. My old one could'nt go higher than C# without always going out of tune. If your sitar can take it, stick with D.

As far as intonation goes, I'm not sure but if the string is thicker, than I'd assume you'd need to adjust the bridge. though I'm not a repair man. Someone else would be better suited to answer that than me.

Drew

Reply with quote  #3 
Quote:
Originally Posted by "sitarman"
I have tuned SA to C# for many years but recently have tried going to D- starting on my Hiren Roy, just to see. It sounds really sweet. My fingers are starting to get used to the extra tension and I am wondering if anyone has ever had any problems similar to what happens with guitars when you increase tension by putting on heavier strings for example. Higher action? Neck problems? Anyone's thoughts on using one or the other- seperate from the obvious answer- whichever the instrument sounds best at, is appreciated.