INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
Blind Lemon Mike

Reply with quote  #1 
Hey, 

i recently discovered the great Balaram Pathak. I think he is a very interesting and unique player and i enjoy listening to him very much. 

One thing i noticed is his use of harmonics. Unfortunately i couldn't find a video where one could observe his technique. 

So the question is: 

Does anyone know how, by seeing him perform or maybe from a teaching situation, how
he did it? 

Is anyone else also doing that, that i'm not aware of? 

Have you tried that and do you incorporate it in your own playing? If so, how is you personal technical approach to this? 

Before gettin into a lenghty description i just quickly tried to record the two aprroachs i came up with myself. One is incorporating the Mizrab, the other one does not. 

Please beware, i am a amateur and Beginner player, this is just to demonstrate and should not have any musical purpose or value..  [wink]

I know it's not something i should focus on right know but I'm curious...

regards from Germany
Lars

Reply with quote  #2 
Abdul Halim Jaffer Khan used this technique also, it's likely one of them got the technique from the other or some other unknown person. Anyway there was a book called Jafferkhani Baaj which taught this technique and had a video CD as well. It's out of print though, maybe a second edition coming but haven't heard any updates from them. https://www.jafferkhanibaaj.com/jafferkhani-baaj

Lars

Reply with quote  #3 
Thank you for that Link, Lars. I will try to get that or  stay tuned for a second edition. 

Do you have that book and do you know how he is doing it? Can you describe it? Am i somewhat close?

regards 
Blind Lemon Mike

Lars

Reply with quote  #4 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blind Lemon Mike
Thank you for that Link, Lars. I will try to get that or  stay tuned for a second edition. 

Do you have that book and do you know how he is doing it? Can you describe it? Am i somewhat close?

regards