INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
gatabera

Reply with quote  #1 
Hey just wanted to see if any of you are sri lankan or from sri lanka. For those of you who don't know...the tabla is also played in sri lanka, but the playing style is a little different from what you find in India. Cheers!!

Gatabera
luvdasitar

Reply with quote  #2 

Thats great to know!! So how is it difeerent..can u point to links ?

I would have thought that there would be more mridangam players if anything.
gatabera

Reply with quote  #3 
Well I am actually not an expert on the topic, but basically this is what I have observed: In Sri Lankan light classical (what is refered to as "sri lankan classical") the tabla player usually plays in dadra or keherwa taals. You rarely see teen tal or any of the other taals being played. The other thing is that there is a lot of embelishment of the taal with the bayan. Its actually similar to what you hear in gazals. Anyway unfortunately I don't know of any links of websites that discuss this topic in detail. The next best thing would be to post sample music. I searched on the internet and found some music on a famous Sri Lankan classical artist: Amaradeva. He is the father of modern sri lankan "classical" music. Please check out the wikipedia article:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pandith_Amaradeva

Here is some music (sorry sound quality is not great):

http://www.infolanka.com/miyuru_gee/con/c452.ram
http://www.infolanka.com/miyuru_gee/con/c50.ram
http://www.infolanka.com/miyuru_gee/nn/n410.ram

Hope you enjoy the music. Comments are welcome
drummerboy

Reply with quote  #4 
I'm Sri Lankan and play tabla but i'm learning from an Indian Teacher. I'm also going to start learning Gata Bera. Do you Play Gata bera?
gatabera

Reply with quote  #5 
Hey drummer boy,