INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Author   Comment  
princessjesusbopeep

Reply with quote  #1 
im just kinda confused as to wether theres a "method to the madness" perse
in tabla accompaniment
i know in solo tabla theres like structures and stuff kaidas and whatnot i guess
but i cant really recognize any structure aside from adheringto the taal obviously in accompanying tabla
is it just prettymuch improvised or am i missing something?
thanks hallah!
deep

Reply with quote  #2 
Hope this helps..Good explanation of what improvisation is from the master himself..

princessjesusbopeep

Reply with quote  #3 
thanks ill check it out
Shivadhyanam

Reply with quote  #4 
I am no expert in accompaniment but this is what I think:

When a tabla player plays is solo (in accompaniment of course) he has more or less three opitions.

1) He plays some fixed compostions like kaydas, relas or uthans/tukras/chakradars

2) He kind of improvises by taking parts from some compositions and joining to other parts of other compostions and make them sound like something fresh and new etc.

3) He just improvises based on what the tan (or improvisation played by the sitar/instrumental player)

The tabla player's solo must complimment the solo(tan) played by the instrumental player. Whether he plays 1, 2 or 3, his or hers contribution must (at least try to) agree with the main player's.

#1 seems easy (and it is easy in a sence that you have all the paltas there correctly laid out for u...and u practiced them all) but to really provide good solo response he would have to know a great amount of kaidas/relas and fixed compositions.

To play #2 one needs to be a bit more involved and aware of the beat and cycle etc to be able to know where and when to add things and tihais etc. He will probably have no much problems with laya since most of what he plays is kind of know (and practiced) to him. The guy who is fed up with #1 may decide to start to improvise one days and may find #2 as a stepping stone.