INDIAN MUSIC FORUMS

Register Calendar Latest Topics Chat

Author   Comment  
tablawadak

Reply with quote  #1 
Please can anyone assist and advice as to what is the best size for practicing tabla. I have had advice for practicing on a low scale (D# to C#) 7 to 7.5 inch tabla. Please advise ?

Regards
drtom

Reply with quote  #2 
Welcome to the forum tablawadak.

I'm no guru but since no one else is chiming in, I'll try to help.  First, let's make sure I understand you correctly.

Are you a beginner and wish to know what would be a good size for you to start on?

Did you mean 5 to 5.5 inch?  That size would naturally tune to C# - D#.  7 to 7.5 inch would be an extremely large dayan.  You might need to special order such a drum.

Do you have large hands?

KevalKK44

Reply with quote  #3 
Hi there tablawadak,

Good question here. I am also new to learning tabla. I have been practising on a 5.5 inch dayan which i always tune to C#. I've been practising for 2 months now and just knowing how to sound different bols.

What I am intrigued with is how do we identify the taal and play with someone who is singing along? 
I usually play harmonium and sing bhajans, I am learning tabla to know the taal aspect in detail. I cannot understand how a tabla player identifies/catches the rhythm of someone that is singing.

My accompanist tabla player learnt it naturally by seeing others play tabla, so he does not have an appropriate answer.
tablawadak

Reply with quote  #4 
Quote:
Originally Posted by drtom
Welcome to the forum tablawadak.

I'm no guru but since no one else is chiming in, I'll try to help.  First, let's make sure I understand you correctly.

Are you a beginner and wish to know what would be a good size for you to start on?

Did you mean 5 to 5.5 inch?  That size would naturally tune to C# - D#.  7 to 7.5 inch would be an extremely large dayan.  You might need to special order such a drum.

Do you have large hands?
tablawadak

Reply with quote  #5 
Hi drtom,